warm kale & cranberry salad

This recipe was a little bit of an experiment which turned out pretty amazing… if I do say so myself. My food shop had just arrived and I was in need of some lunch. I already had it in my head to create my go-to roasted squash, cranberry and rocket salad but I really couldn’t be bothered to wait for the squash to roast (I’ll get the recipe up for that in the coming weeks).

So with my big bag of kale in hand, I switched the oven on and got my frying pan at the ready! This warm sweet and bitter salad was thus created! This recipe will take you all of 10 minutes to bring together and, if you are organised, you could make it in advance and eat it cold… it’ll still be delicious.

Ingredients (serves 1)

  • 2 large handfuls of kale, stalks removed (although this is personal preference)
  • 1 tbsp dried cranberries
  • 1 tbsp chopped onions
  • 1 clove garlic, diced
  • 1/2 to 1 tbsp olive oil
  • salt – good pinch or two
  • 1/2 tbsp flaked almonds (can be toasted)
  • 20g feta (can be omitted if non-dairy or vegan and will still taste delicious)
  • 1 tsp honey (swap for maple syrup if vegan)
  • 1 tsp lemon juice
  • 1 tsp apple cider vinegar

What you need to do;

Start by putting your oven on to 180 degrees (fan).
Put your kale on a large baking tray, sprinkle with salt and a little of the olive oil. Use your hands to massage the salt and oil into the leaves (trust me, this makes it super tasty!)
Put the kale in the oven for 5 to 6 minutes, be careful not to crisp it up too much, you want it warmed and just starting to crisp with a slight darkening of the edges.

Put your frying pan on a medium to high heat, add the olive oil, onions, garlic and cranberries to the pan and fry until the onions and garlic are golden brown and your cranberries are plump and juicy. Then remove the pan from the heat and stir in the almonds.

Once your kale is done pile it on your plate and sprinkle over the cranberry mix. Top with some crumbled feta and drizzle with the dressing – to make up the dressing simply mix the honey, lemon juice and cider vinegar together ( I find that I only used half the dressing, so drizzle and taste before pouring the whole lot over your salad).

Estimated nutritional breakdown; calories 314, carbohydrates 23g, protein 7g, fat 23g, sugar 14g, fiber 3g.

Leave a Reply

